top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSchwanemann

PreProduction is 1/3rd done! (Nov/11 Update)

As many can tell by the title alone; a lot has been achived throughout these two weeks. I'll cover everything I've done so far in chronological order not only to show my process step-by-step, but also due to it being much easier to explain in this manner.


Around the time I made my previous update I asked around in my animation discord about how to go about looking for voice actors seeing I was finished with my script and wanted to get it done as soon as possible. A couple suggested a guy from NG, who I checked out, but didn't go for. It inspired me to make a blog post for a voice actor (luckily due to my subscription I could boost it onto the website's front page). I gave it some time to brew up some attention before I checked my messages. The first message I get was from a user named Nick Senny who explained how he was interested in my project and gave me some reels to check out his range. I was beyond shocked in how....high quality it all was. I know NG has a lot of talented users, but I expected to be messaged by a fellow student or new voice actor. But, I got a dude who got front page several times and had high end equipment. He also proclaimed himself as the "number 1 horror voice actor" on NewGrounds and after listening to this reel i can believe it! So, I took easily accepted him. He's incredibly nice about the whole process ( I be the used to working with clients like me that are new to everything voice acting related) and talkedme through his entire process. Currently he's going to send me some clips that we'll talk through delivery wise. I think I'll recieve his reel during the middle of December (give or take).


While begining my interractions with Nick I started on the rough version of my storyboards. I ordered a specific notebook and high quality pencils to do it all traditionally since that method worked best for me. I watched some videos by professional storyboardx artists and fellow animation students to get a good idea on what to focus on when starting them. What I gathered is it's best to understand the layout of each scene and treat the camera angles as something reasonably dynamic as if I was filming it in person. I also needed to keep the 180 degree rule in mind so I wouldn't confused my viewers as well as keep the jumpcuts reasonably implimented throughout the story. This resulted in seven long pages that took a couple days to make since I didn't want to rush this process. I was able to scan them in then took them over to Clip Studio Paint where I just began the clean up process.


Currently I am going through the clean up process for my storyboards and just finished doing the first page out of seven. I plan on finishing it by the end of the week since I don't want to overwork myself. Here's snippets of the boards:





8 views0 comments
bottom of page